contact us

Use the form on the right to contact us.

You can edit the text in this area, and change where the contact form on the right submits to, by entering edit mode using the modes on the bottom right.

Amsterdam, NH, 1013 AS

+31 (0)20 2629913

Beautiful Distress was founded on the concept that there is a great deal of mental suffering, that not enough people are aware of this and that not enough is done to stop it.

The Foundation uses art in an attempt to open up the world of psychiatry and battle the stigma attached to it.

Why art? Beautiful Distress believes that art is pre-eminently capable of articulating and depicting the human condition



Board of Directors

  • Wilco Tuinebreijer: Chairman of the Board, Initiator
    Psychiatrist, Medical director of the Mental Health Department of the Amsterdam Public Health Service 
  • Fleur Kuypers: Secretary, Project Manager
    Lawyer; prev. Managing Director ATC Corporate Services/Intertrust Netherlands
  • Floris Nijland: Director, Marketing and communications
    prev. Commercial director Orangefield Trust
  • Hanne Hagenaars: Director, Artistic advisor
    Freelance curator and writer
  • Erik Alfarez: Treasurer, finance and budget


Beautiful Distress is supported by a group of trusted advisors who share our objectives. We looked for people with expertise in the field of art and/ or psychiatry. The advisory group currently consists of:

  • Bill Tucker
    Clinical professor of Psychiatry, Columbia College of Physicians and surgeons
  • Jeanne Wikler 
    Former Dutch Cultural attaché to the United States
  • Rebecca Chamberlain
  • Guy Richards Smit
  • Jack Dekker
    Professor of clinical Psychology, VU, Amsterdam
  • Cecile Gijsbers van Wijk
  • Psychiatrist
  • Hans Sanders
  • Sjifra Hirschberg
  • Suzanne Oxenaar
    Former Director and Artistic advisor Beautiful Distress
    President of the Fifth Season Foundation, Artistic Director Lloyd Hotel, Amsterdam
  • Maarten van Overeem
    Former treasurer Beautiful Distress; Financial consultant
  • Annaleen Louwes
  • Bram Claassen